Alaina Shonkwiler
RepublicanIncumbent
- Work
- Business development associate with Garmong Construction; previously managed government consulting at Katz, Sapper & Miller [3]
Shonkwiler is the first-term incumbent and a Noblesville native who worked in economic development and congressional district staff roles before joining the House [3, 10].
Shonkwiler's background
- Works as a business development associate with Garmong Construction and previously managed government consulting at Katz, Sapper & Miller and served as district director for U.S. Rep. Victoria Spartz, according to the House Republican caucus [3].
- The Reporter said she worked for former District 29 Rep. Chuck Goodrich and as a workforce development coordinator for Noblesville Schools [10].
- Graduated from Noblesville High School and holds a public affairs management degree from Indiana University Bloomington; lives in Noblesville [3].
Shonkwiler's positions
Energy & utilities
Public safety
- Cited House Bill 1232 as giving law enforcement tools and resources while supporting transparency and accountability [10].
Housing
- Said she has pushed for housing affordability through the Government and Regulatory Reform Committee [10].
Local government
- Described her work on township modernization in Senate Bill 270 as the first meaningful township reform in over 20 years, and said she wants to stop taxpayers from paying twice for the same service [10].
Education
- Listed among her priorities an education system that gives parents more say and serves every child [4].
How Shonkwiler would run the office
Shonkwiler on the current officeholder
- Is the current officeholder. Asked about the Make My Move relocation program Wellington used, she said she did not want to disparage people who came through it but does not necessarily agree with using tax dollars for it [10].
How Shonkwiler got on the ballot
What we could not find about Shonkwiler
- Whether she faced a 2026 primary opponent was not verified.
- As a 2025 freshman, her individual votes on the 2025 budget (HEA 1001) and property tax law (SEA 1) were not verified from roll calls.
- Her campaign website lists few specific policy positions.
- No fundraising reports were reviewed.
- No endorsements or campaign finance figures were found in reviewed sources.
Shonkwiler's record in office
Indiana House record, District 29 (2025-2026) · compiled from the official record, Oct. 12-13, 2026
- Authored
- 7
- 2 became law
- Co-authored
- 15
- 5 became law
- Sponsored
- 1
- 1 became law
- Co-sponsored
- 8
- 8 became law
Committees, 2026 session
- Government and Regulatory Reform
- Public Policy
- Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications
- Energy, Utilities, and Telecommunications, Interim Study Committee on (House Majority Member)
Floor votes
- 2025: Yes 408, No 67, Excused 35
- 2026: Yes 269, No 89, Excused 16, Not voting 3
How Shonkwiler voted on 18 selected bills
-
2025 · third reading · 02/20/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 66 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/25/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1174: Charges for supervised loans.
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 51 to 46 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 90 to 6 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/24/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 68 to 23 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
SB 1: Local government finance.
2025 · third reading · 04/10/2025
Excused · the chamber voted 65 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 197: Various property matters.
2025 · third reading · 04/14/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 52 to 40 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 03/31/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 54 to 40 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 12/05/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 57 to 41 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 67 to 30 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 56 to 37 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 01/28/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 48 to 47 · defeated on third reading in the House · roll call
-
HB 1122: License plates for former state legislators.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 63 to 15 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 82 to 1 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 91 to 3 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1333: Land use and development.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 54 to 45 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/12/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 61 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 277: Indiana department of environmental management.
2026 · third reading · 02/24/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 53 to 45 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
The 31 bills Shonkwiler carried
-
HB 1188: Resisting law enforcement.
2025 · Authored · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate
Increases certain penalties for resisting law enforcement.
-
2025 · Authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Clarifies that certain information shall be entered into the Indiana data and communication system (IDACS) within 24 hours of the information's receipt unless otherwise provided by law.
-
HB 1007: Energy generation resources.
2025 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides a credit against state tax liability for expenses incurred in the manufacture of a small modular nuclear reactor (SMR) in Indiana.
-
HB 1092: Funding for public safety training.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Appropriates $2,000,000 from the state general fund to the department of homeland security (department) to be used by the department for the purpose of providing mental health and wellness training for: (1) law enforcement officers; (2) emergency medical services providers; and (3) full-time firefighters.
-
HB 1103: Foreign trade offices.
2025 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that a state agency and the Indiana economic development corporation may not establish an office in a country that is a foreign adversary.
-
HB 1260: Architect or engineer review of public work.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that plans and specifications approved by an architect or engineer are not required for certain public work on a public building.
-
HB 1269: Indiana economic development corporation.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Provides for appointment to the board of the Indiana economic development corporation (IEDC) of two nonvoting, advisory members who are members of the general assembly.
-
HB 1270: State revenue and expenditure information.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the department of state revenue (department) to, within a reasonable time after the filing of an Indiana tax return by a taxpayer, issue a letter in hard copy form to every taxpayer who: (1) filed an Indiana tax return for the previous taxable year; and (2) had a state tax liability of at least $1 for the previous taxable year.
-
HB 1276: Various alcoholic beverage matters.
2025 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Allows a craft manufacturer to participate in a farmers' market, subject to certain conditions.
-
2025 · Co-authored · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate
Amends as follows the Indiana Code section authorizing a political subdivision to invest public funds in certificates of deposit of depositories that have not been designated as a depository by the local board of finance but have been designated by the state board of finance as a depository for state deposits: (1) Provides that an investment that is made under the section after June 30, 2018, in a
-
SB 318: Required disclosures and access of foreign media.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Requires certain media entities operating in Indiana to disclose: (1) foreign ownership; (2) foreign funding; and (3) the use of foreign sourced or influenced content.
-
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Prohibits a water utility from constructing a long haul water pipeline unless the water utility first obtains a certificate of public convenience and necessity (CPCN) from the Indiana utility regulatory commission (IURC).
-
SB 420: Transfer of high risk persons from county jail.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Establishes a procedure for the transfer of an inmate from a county jail to another county jail or the department of correction if the inmate: (1) poses a serious risk of escape; (2) demonstrates violent or aggressive behavior; or (3) needs to be protected from other inmates.
-
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Includes water utilities within the scope of the statute that subjects wastewater utilities that: (1) are not under the jurisdiction of the Indiana utility regulatory commission (IURC) for the approval of rates and charges; and (2) have been issued one or more enforcement orders by the department of environmental management; to a series of oversight actions by the IURC for each additional enforcem
-
SB 431: Construction of data center by foreign adversary.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that after June 30, 2025, a foreign company may not construct or cause to be constructed a data center in Indiana unless the Indiana utility regulatory commission and the Indiana economic development corporation conduct a joint study of the anticipated electricity use of the prospective data center and certify to the governor and the general assembly that the electricity estimated to be u
-
SB 502: Attachments to utility poles.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Defines an "attachment request" as a request made: (1) by an attaching entity, other than an electricity supplier, to the owner (pole owner) of an electric distribution pole (pole) for authorization to install, within a period of not more than 30 days, communications service equipment on 300 or more poles owned by the pole owner; and (2) in connection with, and using funds obtained from, a state o
-
HB 1002: Electric utility affordability.
2026 · Authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Requires an electricity supplier, other than a municipally owned utility, that is under the jurisdiction of the Indiana utility regulatory commission (IURC) to do the following: (1) Beginning with the first monthly billing cycle that begins after June 30, 2026, apply a levelized billing plan (plan) to all active residential customer accounts: (A) for service provided under the electricity supplier
-
HB 1215: Regulation of interchange fees.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Prohibits a payment card network from taking certain actions with respect to electronic payment transactions.
-
HB 1272: Collateral recovery services.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Renames the private investigator and security guard licensing board as the private investigator, security guard, and collateral recovery agency licensing board, and adds two additional members to the board.
-
HB 1315: Township reorganization.
2026 · Authored · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee)
Provides that on January 1, 2028, certain townships are dissolved and their powers, duties, offices, and property are transferred to a municipality or county.
-
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Prohibits the exclusion of otherwise admissible evidence based on a violation of the Constitution of the State of Indiana, the Constitution of the United States, or the laws of the United States or Indiana unless certain conditions apply.
-
HB 1041: Line maintenance in public rights-of-way.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Sets forth minimum standards and requirements for the installation and maintenance of communications service or utility service facilities (facilities) in a public right-of-way.
-
HB 1056: Resisting law enforcement conflict resolution.
2026 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Resolves a conflict between HEA 1014-2025 and HEA 1637-2025.
-
HB 1084: Plug-in solar power systems.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Defines a "plug-in solar power system" as a moveable photovoltaic generation device that: (1) has a maximum power output of not more than 1,200 watts; (2) is designed to be connected to a building's electrical system through a standard outlet; and (3) is intended primarily to offset part of the electricity consumption in the building in which it is used.
-
HB 1097: Chronic disease registry.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Adds Parkinson's disease to the definition of "chronic disease" for provisions concerning the chronic disease registry.
-
2026 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that the proceeds from the sale of abandoned vehicles or parts by a city, county, or town shall first be credited against the costs of removal, storage, and disposal of the vehicle incurred by the towing company or storage facility.
-
HB 1203: Adoption of research animals.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Requires research facilities to offer for adoption dogs or cats no longer required for research purposes.
-
HB 1428: Swimming pools in senior neighborhoods.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Allows a senior neighborhood to not have a lifeguard on duty if certain conditions are met except for during visiting hours when minors are allowed to use the pool.
-
SB 23: Alcoholic beverage permits for county fairs.
2026 · Sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Allows the alcohol and tobacco commission to issue a permit for the sale of alcoholic beverages on the grounds of a county fair conducted by a local board, subject to certain limitations and requirements.
-
SB 226: Indiana department of administration.
2026 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Allows the Indiana department of administration (department) to implement category management for purchasing and contracting by state agencies.
-
2026 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Requires the department of local government finance (department) not later than December 31, 2026, to compile data on each township (excluding townships in Marion County) and assign points based upon the township government's performance.
How this record was put together, and what it does not show
What we list: 28 bills chosen by a rule that does not look at topic: both state budgets, four bills named in advance, the 2025-26 redistricting bill, and in each session and chamber the 3 bills whose final-passage vote drew the most “nay” votes.
- Votes reflect party caucus dynamics. Indiana has Republican supermajorities in both chambers, and many floor votes split along party lines; a single vote says little without the bill and its context.
- Bills often die for procedural reasons, such as no committee hearing or a deadline, and a bill marked “not reported from committee” may have become law inside another bill.
- A third-reading vote is on the version in front of the chamber at that time; the final version can be very different.
- Authoring and co-authoring are different: co-authors sign on, often in large numbers, and usually did not write the bill.
- Attendance counts roll calls on bills and joint resolutions (about 89% of numbered roll calls). “Excused” is an absence the chamber approved; “not voting” means no vote was recorded.
Where Shonkwiler's record came from
- Indiana General Assembly legislator and bill records (2023-2026 sessions) (Indiana General Assembly)
- Roll-call PDFs for each vote (linked on each vote) (Indiana General Assembly)
Sources for Shonkwiler
- Alaina Shonkwiler (Indiana House Republican Caucus)