Ragen Hatcher
DemocraticIncumbent
- Work
- Attorney; has taught urban studies and African American studies at IU Northwest [3]
Democrat Ragen Hatcher of Gary has represented House District 3 since her election on Nov. 6, 2018, according to her caucus biography [3].
Hatcher's background
- Elected to the Indiana House on Nov. 6, 2018 [3].
- Gary Common Council at-large member from 2007 to 2011 and again from 2015 [3].
- Holds an economics degree, a law degree and an MBA from Valparaiso University and a master of finance from Indiana University; taught urban studies and African American studies at IU Northwest [3].
How Hatcher got on the ballot
What we could not find about Hatcher
- No opponent is on the ballot, so no candidate forum or questionnaire was expected; no 2026 campaign platform was reviewed.
Hatcher's record in office
Indiana House record, District 3 (2023-2026) · compiled from the official record, Oct. 12-13, 2026
- Authored
- 19
- 0 became law
- Co-authored
- 4
- 2 became law
- Co-sponsored
- 6
- 6 became law
Committees, 2026 session
- Government and Regulatory Reform (Ranking Minority Member)
- Agriculture and Rural Development
- Financial Institutions
- Code Revision Committee (House Minority Member)
- Government, Interim Study Committee on (House Minority Member)
Floor votes
- 2023: Yes 314, No 65, Excused 109, Not voting 3
- 2024: Yes 240, No 66, Excused 2, Not voting 2
- 2025: Yes 298, No 94, Excused 113, Not voting 5
- 2026: Yes 237, No 74, Excused 37, Not voting 29
How Hatcher voted on 37 selected bills
-
2023 · third reading · 02/23/2023
Excused · the chamber voted 66 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · conference committee report · 04/28/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 70 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1024: Public works projects.
2023 · third reading · 02/21/2023
Excused · the chamber voted 52 to 39 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
HB 1420: Electric transmission facilities.
2023 · third reading · 02/20/2023
Excused · the chamber voted 59 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1420: Electric transmission facilities.
2023 · concurrence · 04/20/2023
Excused · the chamber voted 55 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · third reading · 02/21/2023
Excused · the chamber voted 53 to 40 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
SB 451: Carbon sequestration pilot project.
2023 · third reading · 03/21/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 73 to 22 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · third reading · 04/17/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 63 to 36 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1135: Cosmetology apprenticeships.
2024 · third reading · 01/31/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 74 to 22 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1135: Cosmetology apprenticeships.
2024 · concurrence · 03/05/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1162: Bureau of motor vehicles.
2024 · third reading · 02/05/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 88 to 9 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1162: Bureau of motor vehicles.
2024 · conference committee report · 03/08/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 69 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1284: Deposit account agreements.
2024 · third reading · 01/30/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 91 to 4 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1284: Deposit account agreements.
2024 · concurrence · 02/28/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 20 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1338: Security of property and meeting decorum.
2024 · third reading · 01/22/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 77 to 19 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1338: Security of property and meeting decorum.
2024 · concurrence · 03/06/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 58 to 36 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1376: School controlled project referendum.
2024 · third reading · 02/01/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 51 to 44 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2024 · third reading · 03/04/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 98 to undefined · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2024 · conference committee report · 03/08/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 57 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/20/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/25/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1174: Charges for supervised loans.
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 51 to 46 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 90 to 6 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/24/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 68 to 23 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
SB 1: Local government finance.
2025 · third reading · 04/10/2025
Excused · the chamber voted 65 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 197: Various property matters.
2025 · third reading · 04/14/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 52 to 40 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 03/31/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 40 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 12/05/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 57 to 41 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 67 to 30 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 56 to 37 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 01/28/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 48 to 47 · defeated on third reading in the House · roll call
-
HB 1122: License plates for former state legislators.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 63 to 15 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 82 to 1 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 91 to 3 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1333: Land use and development.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 45 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/12/2026
Excused · the chamber voted 61 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 277: Indiana department of environmental management.
2026 · third reading · 02/24/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 53 to 45 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
The 29 bills Hatcher carried
-
HB 1474: Domestic violence reports.
2023 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Removes language concerning an affidavit from provisions concerning probable cause for battery and domestic battery.
-
2023 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Permits a court to issue or modify an order for protection ex parte if harassment has occurred.
-
HB 1034: Income tax exemption for military pay.
2023 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Exempts military pay for members of a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States or the national guard from the individual income tax.
-
2023 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Prohibits citizen's arrests.
-
SB 1: Behavioral health matters.
2023 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that, subject to certain procedures and requirements, the office of the secretary of family and social services may apply to the United States Department of Health and Human Services: (1) for a Medicaid state plan amendment, a waiver, or an amendment to an existing waiver to require reimbursement for eligible certified community behavioral health clinic services; or (2) to participate in
-
SB 327: Gary Community Schools.
2023 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Establishes procedures to appoint members to the governing body of the Gary Community School Corporation.
-
SB 4: Public health commission.
2023 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Defines "core public health services" for purposes of public health laws.
-
SB 404: Access to transcripts.
2023 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that a state educational institution or private postsecondary educational institution operated for profit (institution) in Indiana may not: (1) refuse to provide a transcript for a current or former student of the institution on the grounds that the student owes a debt to the institution; (2) charge a higher fee for obtaining a transcript or provide less favorable treatment of a request f
-
SB 434: Economic development in Lake County.
2023 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Establishes the blighted property demolition fund (demolition fund).
-
HB 1268: Attorney eligibility for real estate broker exam.
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Allows a licensed attorney to obtain a real estate broker license without completing an approved broker course of study.
-
HB 1269: Domestic violence reports.
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Removes language concerning an affidavit from provisions concerning probable cause for battery and domestic battery.
-
HB 1270: Optional circuit breaker tax credit.
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Authorizes the city of Gary to adopt an ordinance to provide a credit against property tax liability for qualified individuals.
-
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that a tax sale purchaser may file a petition with the court not later than 30 days after the date of the sale to seek a determination that the real property is vacant or abandoned.
-
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Prohibits a court from requiring an arrestee to pay bail as a condition of pretrial release, unless: (1) the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the arrestee is a flight risk or danger to the community; (2) the arrestee is charged with murder or treason; (3) the arrestee is on pretrial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present arrest; or (4) the arrestee i
-
2024 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that a state employee may affirmatively elect to enroll in the deferred compensation plan prior to the auto enroll date on day 31 of the state employee's employment.
-
SB 179: Commission on court appointed attorneys.
2024 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Requires the justice reinvestment advisory council (council) to conduct a study on criminal indigency determinations by all Indiana trial courts.
-
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Prohibits a court from requiring an arrestee to pay bail as a condition of pretrial release, unless: (1) the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the arrestee is a flight risk or danger to the community; (2) the arrestee is charged with murder or treason; (3) the arrestee is on pretrial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present arrest; or (4) the arrestee i
-
HB 1567: Domestic violence reports.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Removes language concerning an affidavit from provisions concerning probable cause for battery and domestic battery.
-
HB 1568: Attorney eligibility for real estate broker exam.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Allows a licensed attorney to obtain a real estate broker license without completing an approved broker course of study.
-
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that a tax sale purchaser may file a petition with the court not later than 30 days after the date of the sale to seek a determination that the real property is vacant or abandoned.
-
HB 1627: Consumer pricing information.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that it is a deceptive consumer sales act to display or advertise a purchase price for the subject of a consumer transaction that does not include all fees and charges other than: (1) taxes or fees imposed on the purchase by a unit of government; or (2) reasonably expected shipping or handling charges; that are required to be paid by the consumer to complete the consumer transaction.
-
HB 1647: Paid leave for mental health.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Entitles an employee to at least 36 hours of paid mental health leave per calendar year.
-
HB 1648: Social service benefit kiosk pilot program.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the division of family resources (division) of the office of the secretary of family and social services to establish a pilot program under which the division develops, deploys, and determines the effectiveness of electronic kiosks that allow an individual to do any of the following: (1) Determine the balance remaining in the individual's SNAP or TANF account.
-
HB 1519: Workforce housing assistance program.
2025 · Co-authored · reported from House committee; no House third-reading vote
Establishes the workforce housing assistance program (program).
-
HB 1320: Domestic violence reports.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Removes language concerning an affidavit from provisions concerning probable cause for battery and domestic battery.
-
HB 1321: Prohibition on use of certain food additives.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Prohibits the use of various food additives in Indiana.
-
HB 1322: Attorney eligibility for real estate broker exam.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Allows a licensed attorney to obtain a real estate broker license without completing an approved broker course of study.
-
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Prohibits a court from requiring an arrestee to pay bail as a condition of pretrial release, unless: (1) the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the arrestee is a flight risk or danger to the community; (2) the arrestee is charged with murder or treason; (3) the arrestee is on pretrial release not related to the incident that is the basis for the present arrest; or (4) the arrestee i
-
HB 1324: Consumer pricing information.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that it is a deceptive consumer sales act to display or advertise a purchase price for the subject of a consumer transaction that does not include all fees and charges other than: (1) taxes or fees imposed on the purchase by a unit of government; or (2) reasonably expected shipping or handling charges; that are required to be paid by the consumer to complete the consumer transaction.
How this record was put together, and what it does not show
What we list: 28 bills chosen by a rule that does not look at topic: both state budgets, four bills named in advance, the 2025-26 redistricting bill, and in each session and chamber the 3 bills whose final-passage vote drew the most “nay” votes.
- Votes reflect party caucus dynamics. Indiana has Republican supermajorities in both chambers, and many floor votes split along party lines; a single vote says little without the bill and its context.
- Bills often die for procedural reasons, such as no committee hearing or a deadline, and a bill marked “not reported from committee” may have become law inside another bill.
- A third-reading vote is on the version in front of the chamber at that time; the final version can be very different.
- Authoring and co-authoring are different: co-authors sign on, often in large numbers, and usually did not write the bill.
- Attendance counts roll calls on bills and joint resolutions (about 89% of numbered roll calls). “Excused” is an absence the chamber approved; “not voting” means no vote was recorded.
Where Hatcher's record came from
- Indiana General Assembly legislator and bill records (2023-2026 sessions) (Indiana General Assembly)
- Roll-call PDFs for each vote (linked on each vote) (Indiana General Assembly)
Sources for Hatcher
- Member page: State Representative (Indiana House Democratic Caucus)