Matt Pierce
DemocraticIncumbent
- Work
- Attorney [3]
Democrat Matt Pierce of Bloomington represents House District 61 and is Assistant Democratic Floor Leader, according to his caucus biography [3].
Pierce's background
How Pierce got on the ballot
What we could not find about Pierce
- No opponent is on the ballot, so no candidate forum or questionnaire was expected; no 2026 campaign platform was reviewed.
Pierce's record in office
Indiana House record, District 61 (2023-2026) · compiled from the official record, Oct. 12-13, 2026
- Authored
- 7
- 1 became law
- Co-authored
- 15
- 5 became law
- Co-sponsored
- 5
- 5 became law
Committees, 2026 session
- Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications (Ranking Minority Member)
- Courts and Criminal Code
- Elections and Apportionment
- Rules and Legislative Procedures
- Statutory Committee on Ethics
- Artificial Intelligence Task Force (House Minority Member)
- Corrections and Criminal Code, Interim Study Committee on (House Minority Member)
- Energy, Utilities, and Telecommunications, Interim Study Committee on (House Minority Member)
Floor votes
- 2023: Yes 405, No 82, Excused 4
- 2024: Yes 240, No 65, Excused 4, Not voting 1
- 2025: Yes 390, No 117, Excused 3
- 2026: Yes 291, No 86
How Pierce voted on 37 selected bills
-
2023 · third reading · 02/23/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · conference committee report · 04/28/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 70 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1024: Public works projects.
2023 · third reading · 02/21/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 52 to 39 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
HB 1420: Electric transmission facilities.
2023 · third reading · 02/20/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 59 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1420: Electric transmission facilities.
2023 · concurrence · 04/20/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 55 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · third reading · 02/21/2023
Voted yes · the chamber voted 53 to 40 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
SB 451: Carbon sequestration pilot project.
2023 · third reading · 03/21/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 73 to 22 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · third reading · 04/17/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 63 to 36 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1135: Cosmetology apprenticeships.
2024 · third reading · 01/31/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 74 to 22 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1135: Cosmetology apprenticeships.
2024 · concurrence · 03/05/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1162: Bureau of motor vehicles.
2024 · third reading · 02/05/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 88 to 9 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1162: Bureau of motor vehicles.
2024 · conference committee report · 03/08/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 69 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1284: Deposit account agreements.
2024 · third reading · 01/30/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 91 to 4 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1284: Deposit account agreements.
2024 · concurrence · 02/28/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 20 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1338: Security of property and meeting decorum.
2024 · third reading · 01/22/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 77 to 19 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1338: Security of property and meeting decorum.
2024 · concurrence · 03/06/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 58 to 36 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1376: School controlled project referendum.
2024 · third reading · 02/01/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 51 to 44 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2024 · third reading · 03/04/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 98 to undefined · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2024 · conference committee report · 03/08/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 57 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/20/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/25/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1174: Charges for supervised loans.
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 51 to 46 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 90 to 6 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/24/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 68 to 23 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
SB 1: Local government finance.
2025 · third reading · 04/10/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 65 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 197: Various property matters.
2025 · third reading · 04/14/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 52 to 40 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 03/31/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 40 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 12/05/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 57 to 41 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 67 to 30 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 56 to 37 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 01/28/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 48 to 47 · defeated on third reading in the House · roll call
-
HB 1122: License plates for former state legislators.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 63 to 15 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 82 to 1 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 91 to 3 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1333: Land use and development.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 45 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/12/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 61 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 277: Indiana department of environmental management.
2026 · third reading · 02/24/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 53 to 45 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
The 27 bills Pierce carried
-
2023 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Allows individuals with a terminal illness who meet certain requirements to make a request to an attending provider for medication that the individual may self-administer to bring about death.
-
HB 1256: Archives and record administration.
2023 · Authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Amends related definitions.
-
HB 1472: Hospital and health care cost and quality controls.
2023 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides for implementation of a health care improvement and cost control strategy in Indiana that requires equalization of hospital reimbursement rates for all payers by July 1, 2025, and a total cost of care model of health care improvement and cost control for all heath care providers by July 1, 2030.
-
HB 1367: Natural resource entrance fees.
2023 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Allows counties that meet certain criteria to adopt an ordinance to impose a surcharge of not more than $2 in addition to the fees charged by the department of natural resources (department) for entry into certain state parks and recreation areas.
-
SB 271: Certified technology parks.
2023 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Specifies additional information that a certified technology park (park) is required to provide to the Indiana economic development corporation (corporation) in the course of a review.
-
SB 374: Regional water, sewage, or solid waste districts.
2023 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Increases the maximum amount that may be paid to a member of the board of trustees of a regional water, sewage, or solid waste district from $50 to $150 per day.
-
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Allows individuals with a terminal illness who meet certain requirements to make a request to an attending provider for medication that the individual may self-administer to bring about death.
-
2024 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that a state employee may affirmatively elect to enroll in the deferred compensation plan prior to the auto enroll date on day 31 of the state employee's employment.
-
HB 1163: Certificates of public convenience and necessity.
2024 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that: (1) a rural electric membership corporation (REMC); (2) a nonprofit corporation that is an electric cooperative and that has at least one member that is an REMC; and (3) certain corporations resulting from a merger or consolidation of an REMC and a telephone cooperative corporation; are exempt from the requirement that a public utility obtain a certificate of public convenience and
-
HB 1277: State administration of federal BEAD program.
2024 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Specifies that the existing Indiana statute concerning the awarding of grants by the office of community and rural affairs for certain eligible broadband projects does not apply to subgrants awarded by the Indiana broadband office (office) under the federal Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Program (program).
-
HB 1278: IURC and office of energy development matters.
2024 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Repeals the Indiana Code provisions concerning the following obsolete programs and funds administered by the Indiana office of energy development (office): (1) The alternative fuel fueling station grant program.
-
HB 1317: State payments in lieu of property taxes.
2024 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the state to make payments in lieu of property taxes (PILOTs) for qualified parcels in qualified counties in which the lesser of 19%, or 5,000 acres, of all land in the qualified county is: (1) owned or leased by the state or the federal government; and (2) subject to an exemption from property taxes.
-
SB 150: Artificial intelligence and cybersecurity.
2024 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Creates the artificial intelligence task force (task force) to study and assess use of artificial intelligence technology by state agencies.
-
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Allows individuals with a terminal illness who meet certain requirements to make a request to an attending provider for medication that the individual may self-administer to bring about death.
-
HB 1155: Signal jamming devices.
2025 · Authored · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee)
Provides that a signal jammer may be seized.
-
HB 1245: Natural resource entrance fees.
2025 · Co-authored · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate
Allows counties that meet certain criteria to adopt an ordinance to impose a surcharge of not more than $1 in addition to the fees charged by the department of natural resources (department) for entry into certain state parks and recreation areas.
-
HB 1313: Reentry support pilot programs.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Establishes a peer mentorship pilot program in the: (1) Indiana state prison; (2) New Castle Correctional Facility; (3) Branchville Correctional Facility; (4) Indiana women's prison; and (5) Putnamville Correctional Facility; to use peer mentors and other qualified individuals to provide counseling and other services to aid in the reentry of incarcerated individuals.
-
HB 1444: Gender transition procedures for minors.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Removes the following from the statute prohibiting a physician or other practitioner from knowingly providing gender transition procedures to a minor: (1) Provisions prohibiting a physician or practitioner from aiding or abetting in the provision of gender transition procedures to a minor.
-
HB 1447: State forest areas restricted from logging.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the department of natural resources (department), before January 1, 2026, to designate at least one undivided area comprising at least 10% of each state forest as an old forest area.
-
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that a signal jammer may be seized.
-
SB 422: Advanced transmission technologies.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Defines "advanced transmission technologies" as software or hardware technologies that increase the capacity, efficiency, reliability, or safety of an existing or new electric transmission facility.
-
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Allows individuals with a terminal illness who meet certain requirements to make a request to an attending provider for medication that the individual may self-administer to bring about death.
-
HB 1022: Selection of candidate for lieutenant governor.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Requires a candidate for governor who has been nominated at a primary election or state convention to certify the name of the candidate for lieutenant governor who will run jointly with the candidate for governor at the general election.
-
HB 1204: Natural resource entrance fees.
2026 · Co-authored · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate
Allows counties that meet certain criteria to adopt an ordinance to impose a surcharge of not more than $1 in addition to the fees charged by the department of natural resources (department) for entry into certain state parks and recreation areas.
-
HB 1267: State board of accounts.
2026 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that the state board of accounts is subject to applicable professional auditing standards.
-
HB 1338: Physician standards of practice.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Specifies that the provisions prohibiting a physician or practitioner from aiding or abetting in the provision of gender transition procedures to a minor do not prohibit a physician or other practitioner from: (1) releasing a minor's health information to another physician or other practitioner in the course of the receiving practitioner's care of the minor; or (2) discussing a minor's medical his
-
HB 1339: Voter identification.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that a REAL ID driver's license or identification card that complies with certain requirements is sufficient proof of identification for purposes of elections statutes.
How this record was put together, and what it does not show
What we list: 28 bills chosen by a rule that does not look at topic: both state budgets, four bills named in advance, the 2025-26 redistricting bill, and in each session and chamber the 3 bills whose final-passage vote drew the most “nay” votes.
- Votes reflect party caucus dynamics. Indiana has Republican supermajorities in both chambers, and many floor votes split along party lines; a single vote says little without the bill and its context.
- Bills often die for procedural reasons, such as no committee hearing or a deadline, and a bill marked “not reported from committee” may have become law inside another bill.
- A third-reading vote is on the version in front of the chamber at that time; the final version can be very different.
- Authoring and co-authoring are different: co-authors sign on, often in large numbers, and usually did not write the bill.
- Attendance counts roll calls on bills and joint resolutions (about 89% of numbered roll calls). “Excused” is an absence the chamber approved; “not voting” means no vote was recorded.
Where Pierce's record came from
- Indiana General Assembly legislator and bill records (2023-2026 sessions) (Indiana General Assembly)
- Roll-call PDFs for each vote (linked on each vote) (Indiana General Assembly)
Sources for Pierce
- Member page: State Representative (Indiana House Democratic Caucus)