Alex Burton
DemocraticIncumbent
- Work
- Business leader at Berry Global [5]
Democrat Alex Burton of Evansville was elected to House District 77 on Nov. 5, 2024, according to his caucus biography [3].
Burton's background
- Elected to the Indiana House on Nov. 5, 2024 [3].
- Served on the Evansville City Council for Ward 4 from 2020 until joining the House in November 2024, and was council president during that time [4].
- His legislative newsletter describes him as a business leader at Berry Global [5].
- Graduate of Indiana State University and Western Kentucky University; has created programs connecting youth, adults and families with federal, state and local resources, according to his caucus [3].
How Burton got on the ballot
What we could not find about Burton
- No opponent is on the ballot, so no candidate forum or questionnaire was expected; no 2026 campaign platform was reviewed.
Burton's record in office
Indiana House record, District 77 (2025-2026) · compiled from the official record, Oct. 12-13, 2026
- Authored
- 9
- 1 became law
- Co-authored
- 6
- 3 became law
- Co-sponsored
- 7
- 7 became law
Committees, 2026 session
- Natural Resources (Ranking Minority Member)
- Family, Children and Human Affairs
- Judiciary
- Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications
- Child Services, Interim Study Committee on (House Minority Member)
- Courts and the Judiciary, Interim Study Committee on (House Minority Member)
- Energy, Utilities, and Telecommunications, Interim Study Committee on (House Minority Member)
Floor votes
- 2025: Yes 407, No 94, Excused 6, Not voting 3
- 2026: Yes 280, No 77, Excused 15, Not voting 5
How Burton voted on 18 selected bills
-
2025 · third reading · 02/20/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/25/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1174: Charges for supervised loans.
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 51 to 46 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 90 to 6 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/24/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 68 to 23 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
SB 1: Local government finance.
2025 · third reading · 04/10/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 65 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 197: Various property matters.
2025 · third reading · 04/14/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 52 to 40 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 03/31/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 40 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 12/05/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 57 to 41 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 67 to 30 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 56 to 37 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 01/28/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 48 to 47 · defeated on third reading in the House · roll call
-
HB 1122: License plates for former state legislators.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Excused · the chamber voted 63 to 15 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Excused · the chamber voted 82 to 1 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted yes · the chamber voted 91 to 3 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1333: Land use and development.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 45 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/12/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 61 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 277: Indiana department of environmental management.
2026 · third reading · 02/24/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 53 to 45 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
The 22 bills Burton carried
-
HB 1349: IHCDA report requirement.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the housing and community development authority (IHCDA) to include in its annual report certain information concerning the authority's programs to promote housing stability.
-
HB 1673: Tracking of municipal utility costs.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the Indiana utility regulatory commission (commission) to include in the commission's annual report and publish on the commission's website: (1) the average amount paid by residents of each Indiana municipality for: (A) energy utility service; (B) water and wastewater utility service; and (C) gas distribution service; in the preceding year, disaggregated by municipality; and (2) the stati
-
HB 1674: Tracking of statewide utility costs.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the Indiana utility regulatory commission (commission) to include in the commission's annual report and publish on the commission's website: (1) the average amount paid by an Indiana resident for: (A) energy utility service; (B) water and wastewater utility service; and (C) gas distribution service; in the preceding year; and (2) the statistical change in each of these average amounts sin
-
HB 1675: Appropriation to community mental health centers.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Appropriates $3,000,000 from the state general fund to the division of mental health and addiction to award grants to community mental health centers in low income areas to hire mental health professionals.
-
HB 1451: Evansville professional sports development area.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Increases the maximum amount of covered taxes that may be captured in the Evansville professional sports and convention development area from $10 per resident to $5,000,000.
-
SB 178: Natural gas and propane as a clean energy resources.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that it is the continuing policy of the state to recognize natural gas and propane as "clean energy" or "green energy" for purposes of any state or federal program that provides funding or other incentives for: (1) clean energy initiatives or projects; (2) green energy initiatives or projects; or (3) any similarly designated initiatives or projects; in Indiana.
-
SB 448: Higher education and workforce development matters.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Establishes additional duties for the governor's workforce cabinet and requires the cabinet to perform certain duties jointly with other state agencies.
-
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Allows the Indiana board of pharmacy to release confidential information received by the INSPECT program to a supervisor of the department of child services (department) who is engaged in an investigation or adjudication of child abuse or neglect.
-
SB 73: Sale of utility trailers.
2025 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Amends the definition of "motor vehicle" for purposes of dealer services provisions governing unfair practices and the succession to franchise by designated family members.
-
HB 1043: Data center water regulation.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Defines "data center".
-
HB 1100: Health insurance coverage for adoptive children.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that if an adoptive child is eligible for coverage under the Medicaid program and as a dependent under the adoptive parent's private health insurance, the adoptive parent may opt out of the adoptive child's participation in the Medicaid program.
-
HB 1297: Water intensive facilities.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that if a proposed economic development project includes proposed construction or establishment of a facility that will consume an average of at least 500,000 gallons of water per day in ordinary operation (water intensive facility), the Indiana finance authority (IFA) may not approve a bid for the project, the Indiana economic development corporation (IEDC) may not grant a job creation i
-
HB 1307: Department of child services ombudsman.
2026 · Authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that the office of the department of child services ombudsman (ombudsman office) shall (rather than may, under current law): (1) employ technical experts and other employees to carry out the purposes of the ombudsman office; (2) receive, investigate, and attempt to resolve complaints alleging that the department of child services failed to protect the physical or mental health or safety o
-
HB 1308: Indiana bright start program and fund.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Establishes the Indiana bright start program (program) to support the early learning and child care needs of working families with eligible children.
-
HB 1002: Electric utility affordability.
2026 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Requires an electricity supplier, other than a municipally owned utility, that is under the jurisdiction of the Indiana utility regulatory commission (IURC) to do the following: (1) Beginning with the first monthly billing cycle that begins after June 30, 2026, apply a levelized billing plan (plan) to all active residential customer accounts: (A) for service provided under the electricity supplier
-
HB 1036: Children in need of services.
2026 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Requires the department of child services, subject to certain procedural safeguards, to have in-person contact with an alleged victim of child abuse or neglect: (1) before concluding an assessment; and (2) before dismissing or terminating a pending child in need of services case with the juvenile court.
-
HB 1098: Work based learning liability.
2026 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Requires an intermediary and an employer to enter into an agreement that sets forth the duties and responsibilities of the intermediary and the employer when participating in a work based learning program.
-
HB 1206: Local public work project bidding.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Provides additional considerations that a local public works board may consider in determining the lowest responsible and responsive bidder for a public work project costing at least $300,000.
-
HB 1317: IURC and utility audits.
2026 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that every three years, beginning in 2026, the state board of accounts shall conduct an audit of the funds, accounts, financial affairs, and all compliance related matters of the Indiana utility regulatory commission (IURC) for the state fiscal year ending in the year in which the audit is conducted.
-
SB 240: Surplus interconnection service.
2026 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Defines "surplus interconnection service" (SIS), with respect to established interconnection service connecting an electric generating facility with an electric transmission system, as any portion of that service that: (1) has not been used; and (2) is not reasonably expected to be needed; the use of which would result in the total amount of interconnection service at the point of interconnection
-
SB 254: Ivy Tech Community College.
2026 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Consolidates duties and responsibilities for Ivy Tech Community College (college).
-
2026 · Co-sponsored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Establishes the northwest Indiana stadium authority (stadium authority) for the purpose of acquiring and financing certain facilities.
How this record was put together, and what it does not show
What we list: 28 bills chosen by a rule that does not look at topic: both state budgets, four bills named in advance, the 2025-26 redistricting bill, and in each session and chamber the 3 bills whose final-passage vote drew the most “nay” votes.
- Votes reflect party caucus dynamics. Indiana has Republican supermajorities in both chambers, and many floor votes split along party lines; a single vote says little without the bill and its context.
- Bills often die for procedural reasons, such as no committee hearing or a deadline, and a bill marked “not reported from committee” may have become law inside another bill.
- A third-reading vote is on the version in front of the chamber at that time; the final version can be very different.
- Authoring and co-authoring are different: co-authors sign on, often in large numbers, and usually did not write the bill.
- Attendance counts roll calls on bills and joint resolutions (about 89% of numbered roll calls). “Excused” is an absence the chamber approved; “not voting” means no vote was recorded.
Where Burton's record came from
- Indiana General Assembly legislator and bill records (2023-2026 sessions) (Indiana General Assembly)
- Roll-call PDFs for each vote (linked on each vote) (Indiana General Assembly)
Sources for Burton
- Member page: State Representative (Indiana House Democratic Caucus)