Ryan M Dvorak
DemocraticIncumbent
- Work
- Practices law with May Oberfell Lorber [4]
Ryan Dvorak, a Democrat and South Bend attorney, has held the District 8 seat since 2002 and is seeking another term [3, 4].
Dvorak's background
- Holds a bachelor's degree in philosophy from the University of Notre Dame and a law degree from the Indiana University McKinney School of Law [3].
- Practices law with May Oberfell Lorber and was a senior aide to U.S. Rep. Tim Roemer from 1996 to 2001 [4].
- Ran unsuccessfully in the 2011 Democratic primary for mayor of South Bend [4].
- Lives in South Bend [3].
Dvorak's positions
Elections & redistricting
- Voted against the December 2025 mid-decade congressional redistricting bill (HB 1032) and, in 2026, against Senate Bill 12, which prohibits ranked-choice voting [8].
Energy & utilities
Environment
- Secured a 2023 amendment requiring a scientific basis for regional watershed commission projects and keeping St. Joseph River communities in watershed management [5].
Dvorak on the current officeholder
- Is the current officeholder. No statements by Dvorak about his challenger were found.
How Dvorak got on the ballot
- Was the only Democratic candidate in the May 5, 2026 primary, according to Wikipedia's listing [7].
What we could not find about Dvorak
- His campaign website (ryandvorak.com) could not be reviewed for this profile, so his own 2026 campaign statements were not reviewed.
- His individual votes on the 2025 property-tax law (SEA 1) and the 2025 state budget (HEA 1001) were not confirmed from a roll call.
- His current committee leadership roles were not confirmed; the caucus page lists Rules, Natural Resources and Judiciary without titles.
- No bills authored by Dvorak that became law in 2023–2026 were identified.
- Endorsements could not be confirmed from the sources reviewed.
- No campaign-finance reports were reviewed.
Dvorak's record in office
Indiana House record, District 8 (2023-2026) · compiled from the official record, Oct. 12-13, 2026
- Authored
- 18
- 0 became law
- Co-authored
- 2
- 1 became law
Committees, 2026 session
- Judiciary
- Natural Resources
- Rules and Legislative Procedures
- Probate Code Study Committee (House Minority Member)
Floor votes
- 2023: Yes 352, No 103, Excused 33, Not voting 3
- 2024: Yes 221, No 67, Excused 20, Not voting 2
- 2025: Yes 326, No 133, Excused 49, Not voting 2
- 2026: Yes 241, No 78, Excused 39, Not voting 19
How Dvorak voted on 37 selected bills
-
2023 · third reading · 02/23/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · conference committee report · 04/28/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 70 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1024: Public works projects.
2023 · third reading · 02/21/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 52 to 39 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
HB 1420: Electric transmission facilities.
2023 · third reading · 02/20/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 59 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1420: Electric transmission facilities.
2023 · concurrence · 04/20/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 55 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · third reading · 02/21/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 53 to 40 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
SB 451: Carbon sequestration pilot project.
2023 · third reading · 03/21/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 73 to 22 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2023 · third reading · 04/17/2023
Voted no · the chamber voted 63 to 36 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1135: Cosmetology apprenticeships.
2024 · third reading · 01/31/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 74 to 22 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1135: Cosmetology apprenticeships.
2024 · concurrence · 03/05/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1162: Bureau of motor vehicles.
2024 · third reading · 02/05/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 88 to 9 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1162: Bureau of motor vehicles.
2024 · conference committee report · 03/08/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 69 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1284: Deposit account agreements.
2024 · third reading · 01/30/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 91 to 4 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1284: Deposit account agreements.
2024 · concurrence · 02/28/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 66 to 20 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1338: Security of property and meeting decorum.
2024 · third reading · 01/22/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 77 to 19 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1338: Security of property and meeting decorum.
2024 · concurrence · 03/06/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 58 to 36 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1376: School controlled project referendum.
2024 · third reading · 02/01/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 51 to 44 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2024 · third reading · 03/04/2024
Voted yes · the chamber voted 98 to undefined · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2024 · conference committee report · 03/08/2024
Voted no · the chamber voted 57 to 39 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/20/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/25/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 66 to 27 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1174: Charges for supervised loans.
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 51 to 46 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 02/17/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 90 to 6 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · conference committee report · 04/24/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 68 to 23 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
SB 1: Local government finance.
2025 · third reading · 04/10/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 65 to 29 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 197: Various property matters.
2025 · third reading · 04/14/2025
Voted yes · the chamber voted 52 to 40 · passed both chambers in some form; final version not enacted · roll call
-
2025 · third reading · 03/31/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 40 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 12/05/2025
Voted no · the chamber voted 57 to 41 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 67 to 30 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Excused · the chamber voted 56 to 37 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 01/28/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 48 to 47 · defeated on third reading in the House · roll call
-
HB 1122: License plates for former state legislators.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Excused · the chamber voted 63 to 15 · passed the House; defeated on third reading in the Senate · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Excused · the chamber voted 82 to 1 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1210: Department of local government finance.
2026 · conference committee report · 02/27/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 91 to 3 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
HB 1333: Land use and development.
2026 · third reading · 02/02/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 54 to 45 · passed the House only; did not pass the Senate (not reported from Senate committee) · roll call
-
2026 · third reading · 02/12/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 61 to 28 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
-
SB 277: Indiana department of environmental management.
2026 · third reading · 02/24/2026
Voted no · the chamber voted 53 to 45 · enacted: signed by the Governor · roll call
The 20 bills Dvorak carried
-
HB 1530: PFAS water safety standards.
2023 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the Indiana department of health (department) to establish state maximum contaminant levels for PFAS in water provided by public water systems.
-
HB 1632: Ballot access for major and minor parties.
2023 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that the term "major political party" refers to: (1) with respect to the state, any of the parties whose nominees received more than 2,500 votes statewide for secretary of state in the last election; or (2) with respect to a political subdivision, any of the parties whose nominees received more than 250 votes in that political subdivision for secretary of state in the last election.
-
HJR 5: Membership of the general assembly.
2023 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Increases the membership of the Indiana senate to 100 members and the membership of the Indiana house of representatives to 200 members.
-
HB 1085: PFAS water safety standards.
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the Indiana department of health (department) to establish state maximum contaminant levels for PFAS in water provided by public water systems.
-
HB 1322: Sales tax exemption for utility service.
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides a sales tax exemption for the sale or furnishing of the following services or commodities by a power subsidiary or a person engaged as a public utility to a person for commercial or domestic consumption: (1) Electrical energy.
-
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that, for any work week beginning on or after July 1, 2024, the minimum wage paid to certain employees is 0.008% of the governor's annual salary.
-
HB 1324: Ballot access for major and minor parties.
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides, for purposes of certain laws, that the term "major political party" refers to: (1) with respect to the state, any of the parties whose nominees received more than 2,500 votes statewide for secretary of state in the last election; or (2) with respect to a political subdivision, any of the parties whose nominees received more than 250 votes in that political subdivision for secretary of st
-
HJR 2: Membership of the general assembly.
2024 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Increases the membership of the Indiana senate to 100 members and the membership of the Indiana house of representatives to 200 members.
-
2024 · Co-authored · enacted: signed by the Governor
Provides that a state employee may affirmatively elect to enroll in the deferred compensation plan prior to the auto enroll date on day 31 of the state employee's employment.
-
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that, for any work week beginning on or after July 1, 2025, the minimum wage paid to certain employees is 0.008% of the governor's annual salary.
-
HB 1365: Ballot access for major and minor parties.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides, for purposes of certain laws, that the term "major political party" refers to: (1) with respect to the state, any of the parties whose nominees received more than 2,500 votes statewide for secretary of state in the last election; or (2) with respect to a political subdivision, any of the parties whose nominees received more than 250 votes in that political subdivision for secretary of st
-
HB 1366: PFAS water safety standards.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the Indiana department of health (state department) to establish state maximum contaminant levels for PFAS in water provided by public water systems.
-
HB 1446: Sales tax exemption for utility service.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides a sales tax exemption for the sale or furnishing of the following services or commodities by a power subsidiary or a person engaged as a public utility to a person for commercial or domestic consumption: (1) Electrical energy.
-
HJR 3: Membership of the general assembly.
2025 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Increases the membership of the Indiana senate to 100 members and the membership of the Indiana house of representatives to 200 members.
-
HB 1598: Assessment of community land trust property.
2025 · Co-authored · not reported from House committee
Provides for the true tax value of land and improvements in a community land trust for purposes of property tax assessment.
-
HB 1238: Assessment of homesteads.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides that, beginning with the January 1, 2027, assessment date, the assessed value of real property that qualifies as a homestead shall only be adjusted upon the sale, devise, descent, or conveyance of the real property.
-
HB 1239: PFAS water safety standards.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Requires the Indiana department of health (state department) to establish state maximum contaminant levels for PFAS in water provided by public water systems.
-
HB 1340: Sales tax exemption for utility service.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides a sales tax exemption for the sale or furnishing of the following services or commodities by a power subsidiary or a person engaged as a public utility to a person for commercial or domestic consumption: (1) Electrical energy.
-
HJR 3: Membership of the general assembly.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Increases the membership of the Indiana senate to 100 members and the membership of the Indiana house of representatives to 200 members.
-
HJR 4: Ratification of amendment to the Constitution of the United States.
2026 · Authored · not reported from House committee
Provides for ratification of the proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States concerning congressional apportionment.
How this record was put together, and what it does not show
What we list: 28 bills chosen by a rule that does not look at topic: both state budgets, four bills named in advance, the 2025-26 redistricting bill, and in each session and chamber the 3 bills whose final-passage vote drew the most “nay” votes.
- Votes reflect party caucus dynamics. Indiana has Republican supermajorities in both chambers, and many floor votes split along party lines; a single vote says little without the bill and its context.
- Bills often die for procedural reasons, such as no committee hearing or a deadline, and a bill marked “not reported from committee” may have become law inside another bill.
- A third-reading vote is on the version in front of the chamber at that time; the final version can be very different.
- Authoring and co-authoring are different: co-authors sign on, often in large numbers, and usually did not write the bill.
- Attendance counts roll calls on bills and joint resolutions (about 89% of numbered roll calls). “Excused” is an absence the chamber approved; “not voting” means no vote was recorded.
Where Dvorak's record came from
- Indiana General Assembly legislator and bill records (2023-2026 sessions) (Indiana General Assembly)
- Roll-call PDFs for each vote (linked on each vote) (Indiana General Assembly)
Sources for Dvorak
- State Rep. Ryan Dvorak (Indiana House Democratic Caucus)